Google announced Wednesday that it will automatically delete users’ location records after 18 months, and users can set themselves to every 3 months or every 36 months. New users’ network and app activity will also be automatically deleted after 18 months. But for existing users, Google will still keep an indefinite track of their web access, app activity, and Youtube viewing history, but users can manually set up Incognito.
Google’s location tracking feature is turned off by default, but when it’s turned on, Google will be able to get precise location information and make personalized recommendations based on location or browsing history, such as restaurants, attractions, and itinerary.
The feature will be available on iOS on Wednesday and then on Android, where users will be able to easily enable Incognito mode in a long-press profile.