Microsoft explains why Edge silently imports Firefox and Chrome data

Last week some Firefox users discovered that a new version of Edge updated to a device via Windows Update would result in data imports from Firefox, even if the user did not authorize Edge to do so. Based on these users’ descriptions, they tried to kill the initial setup process for the new version of Edge, and as a result, Firefox or Chrome data was imported into the new version of Edge without permission, even though the setup wizard was turned off.

Microsoft explains why Edge silently imports Firefox and Chrome data

Edge got negative attention last week because of the way it handles browser data import.

After the incident, the technology media media Windows Central contacted Microsoft, and a Microsoft spokesman sent them the following statement:

We believe that browser data belongs to users and that they have the right to decide what to do. Like other browsers, Microsoft Edge provides users with the opportunity to import data during installation.

In the first run experience, users have the opportunity to retain or discard imported data. If they choose not to continue importing, the data is discarded. If a user prematurely terminates the run of the new version of The Edge during the first run experience, such as using Task Manager, the residual data may not be completely deleted.

We recommend that users do not prematurely close the setup wizard process to ensure that the desired results are achieved.

So technically, if a user doesn’t agree with Edge importing their own browsing data from Chrome or Firefox, they should be able to manually delete the remaining data. But the premise is not to end the new version of Edge too early.