Microsoft explains why it removed the option to postpone the Windows 10 2004 feature update

Last week,media reported that Microsoft had quietly removed the Deferred Update option from the Windows 10 Settings menu. Although not officially announced, the change is hidden in documents for IT professionals. Previously, this option was often used by users to avoid a series of problems caused by unverified updates until Microsoft was able to teach them to be stable enough. Microsoft’s explanation, however, is that they decided to remove the option to prevent some confusion.

Microsoft explains why it removed the option to postpone the Windows 10 2004 feature update

Microsoft said in a recent announcement that it has removed two advanced settings options from Windows 10 Version 2004.

Users of Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise, and Education will then be unable to delay specific feature or quality updates until ‘longer’.

The software giant added that confusion over this option has led some corporate customers to inadvertently update to the new version. In a blog post earlier this week, Aria Carley explained:

Users don’t actually need to adjust any settings unless the current system is about to terminate service, because Microsoft does not automatically install new Windows 10 feature updates on the user’s device.

The option to delay the update by 365 days seems to give users a reassuring one-year period. But given that Microsoft will offer feature updates twice a year, some versions are upgraded only six months apart, instead of the original 365 days.

It is only possible to stay in the current version until you choose to download and secure the latest feature updates without setting a deferred update, or if the system is nearing the end of the service.

Microsoft explains why it removed the option to postpone the Windows 10 2004 feature update

Carley explains that after you change this setting, you can stay on any given version for longer (about an annual or less than a feature update) on any given version, depending on the version of Windows 10 that the user is using.

Deferred may be a good way to deploy updates to a range of devices in your organization, but for end users, it can lead to confusion and unexpected upgrades, and even some unintended consequences.

To prevent these unintended consequences and enable users to use them for longer on a given version of Windows 10 — starting with Windows 10 Version 2004, Microsoft will no longer show the option to defer updates under the Advanced tab on the Windows Update settings page.

This ensures control and viewing when to install the latest Windows 10 feature updates until your system is nearing the end of service. However, the delay feature has not been completely eliminated, it is only by default no longer displayed on the settings page.

If required, users can still set “When to receive preview versions and feature updates” and “When to receive quality updates” in the Computer Configuration – – And Management Templates – . . . Windows Components – Windows for Business.