Apple under antitrust investigation for iOS 13 changes location privacy feature

For iOS, Apple emphasizes more about security and privacy. When it comes to the iOS 13 version, Apple has further enhanced its content, such as the previously large Siri recording backhaul server, which allows users to turn off sharing Siri recording data after updating to iOS 13.2 The average user can more intuitively feel should be the application to obtain permissions when the pop-up window, previously always allowed, allowed once, and not allowed, after the upgrade with only use-only period allowed to replace the always allowed.

Users need to always give an app to use location information all the time, or change it through settings.

Apple under antitrust investigation for iOS 13 changes location privacy featureiOS 13系统位置权限弹窗

And apple has come under an antitrust investigation over the location setting for iOS 13. Members of the U.S. House of Representatives Department of Justice’s antitrust subcommittee turned their attention to location-tracking after reviewing new privacy rules introduced by iOS 13, the Washington Post reported. U.S. lawmakers are concerned that Apple’s new technology restricts third-party access to device tracking assets, which constitutes anticompetitive behavior.

In iOS 13, the user can clearly sense that when a third-party app requests location information permissions for the device, the user can directly choose to deny the app access to location information in the pop-up window, allow it only once, or only during the app’s use. If the user wants to always grant the app access to location information, they need to do so within the settings. And,media AppleInsider points out that after users actively grant the app permission to always get device location information, the system regularly pops windows to alert users and provides the option to close.

In addition,media point out that Apple’s location permission settings are not for its own apps, such as maps and new Find apps. In addition, the new find app can upload its location offline with other Apple devices nearby, and the feature doesn’t notify device owners when used, such as a pop-up lets users choose whether to allow access to location information. The relevant privacy regulations for finding are hidden in the terms of use of the app.

In response to Apple’s approach, a group of developers wrote to Cook in August, calling Apple a double-sign.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *