Microsoft has confirmed that Windows 10 20H2 has a blue screen and a forced restart

Since the launch of Windows 10 20H2 (updated in October), early users have responded to many questions. Just two weeks after the 20H2 was released, for example, the company confirmed that users might experience a Blue Screen Crash (BSOD) or a forced restart warning after logging in, forcing the device to roll back to a previous version. Microsoft wrote in its support documentation that the Windows 10 feature update caused compatibility and blue screen crash issues, with an error code DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION “e6”.

Microsoft has confirmed that Windows 10 20H2 has a blue screen and a forced restart

(Screenshot via Windows Latest)

The error message states that “a validated driver tried an illegal direct memory access (DMA) operation.” Microsoft and Intel checked and found that the problem was related to the compatibility of some NVMe solid-state drives.

To avoid impact on enlargement, Microsoft has blocked Windows 10 updates for this part of the device, in addition to forcing installations that can cause blue screen crashes, loop restarts, and performance issues.

If your device can’t get updates through the Settings app, try to avoid deploying Windows 10 20H2, for example, through the Media Creation Tool.

Microsoft has confirmed that Windows 10 20H2 has a blue screen and a forced restart

If you’ve already done so, manually uninstall the update and roll back to the previous version of Windows. To be more secure, you can manually disable automatic updates on Windows 10 at any time until Microsoft has a formal solution.

Finally, there is a BUG that could cause the system to log out and force a restart, which Microsoft has confirmed in a separate support document, and the analysis found that it is primarily related to the local security authorization process and the MMC management console components.

Affected users will re-emerge even if they follow a message that says they have signed out or a device restart, especially if they try to access the Login Options Settings application page. If you’ve already done so, try removing the update manually.