Twitter user Brandon Butch found in the second beta version of iOS 13.3.1 released earlier this month that Apple had introduced a switch to a u1 ultra-broadband chip on a disabled device. Users who need this option can find this option in Settings – Privacy – Location Services – System Services – Network and Wireless. Note that when disabled, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and ultra-broadband performance will be affected.
(Instagram via MacRumors)
Previously, it was discovered that the iPhone 11, 11 Pro and Pro Max would continue to track users’ locations even if location services were disabled. So in beta, Apple added this feature switch.
The company said it was an expected move for ultra-broadband and was designed to load the iPhone’s operational design requirements. Apple is required to disable U1 chips in certain locations, as required by international regulations.
With location services and iOS software, devices can intelligently determine whether ultra-broadband technology should be disabled in certain regions. The company, which promised to add a toggle button to completely disable the U1 chip, has finally released it to everyone on iOS 13.3.1.
Apple stresses that compliance with ultra-broadband technology, as well as the use and management of location data, is done entirely on the user’s device and does not collect any private information from the user.