Google has sent notifications to some of its Google Photos users that some of the videos stored on the service may have been exported to random users’ profiles. Google said users who used Google’s photo download service between November 21 and November 25, 2019 may find their data export incomplete and may contain videos from other users.
Google is now notifying affected users, and it’s unclear how many are victims of the problem. Google says a five-day technical issue allows users’ videos to be exported to irrelevant user profiles. They assure the user that the issue has been resolved, but the user should now delete the previous export and execute the new export.
One user’s video may have been shared with an unknown other user, and it is not clear which videos may have been shared. Google only mentions videos, so it can be assumed that exported photos may not be affected. Google has been a frequent source of security issues recently, and in late 2019, a German security research group placed eight ‘smart spies’ in Amazon’s Alexa and Google Home app stores to show how to easily eavesdrop and phishe through smart speakers.
Security officials also recently discovered that Avast, a popular antivirus tool for PCs and Macs, has been collecting user data and selling it directly to Google and Microsoft.