Microsoft acknowledges that the KB4532693 update contains errors and provides a new plan for restoring personal data

On this month’s Patch Tuesday event day, Microsoft released KB4532693 to the user’s many problems, in addition to will not be able to boot properly, is to cause users to upgrade after the desktop, account profile loss. Now the Microsoft support team has acknowledged these errors and offered another solution to recovering personal data.

Microsoft acknowledges that the KB4532693 update contains errors and provides a new plan for restoring personal data

In its latest community post, Microsoft acknowledged the cumulative update errors for Windows 10 Version 1903 and 1909. “Microsoft acknowledges that some v1903 and v1909 users logged into temporary profiles after installing KB4532693,” Microsoft wrote in the post. “

If you experience a similar problem and cannot browse the primary user profile, Microsoft recommends that users restart in safe mode before starting in normal mode to resolve the issue. “If the above steps are still invalid, you can uninstall any secure banking or antivirus software in the temporary profile, which basically resolves the issue,” the post reads. “

It is worth noting that Microsoft has not acknowledged this confusion in its official documentation and has provided fixes for affected users. Microsoft is expected to release a new cumulative update later this month that includes fixes for user profile errors.

Based on previous feedback from users, after upgrading the patch, the desktop and user configuration of Windows 10 appears to have been reset to the default settings, the desktop background has been restored to Windows, the custom icon is gone, and even the files on the desktop are gone.

But the problem isn’t as serious, because Microsoft doesn’t really reset and erase the data, the user’s desktop and profile are still there, and backup files named after .ooo or .bak can be found under the C:-Users user file.

This problem is likely due to the upgrade process, where these users’ accounts are loaded into a temporary configuration, the original files are renamed and backed up, and then Microsoft forgets to change them back to the user because of some bugs or negligence.