Twitter tests Stories-like features, messages are automatically deleted after 24 hours

On the morning of March 5, Beijing time, Twitter was testing its Storys feature. The company announced today that it will begin experimenting with a new form of messaging called Fleets from Brazil, supporting users to post time-bound messages on Twitter for the first time. Unlike regular Twitter messages, Fleets messages don’t receive likes, replies, and retweets and disappear completely 24 hours after they’re posted.

Twitter tests Stories-like features, messages are automatically deleted after 24 hours

To be clear, Fleets messages aren’t private, they just don’t spread as widely as normal messages. Even if they don’t pay attention, users can click on an account’s public profile to view its Fleets message. However, Fleets messages posted by accounts do not spread on Twitter’s network, appear in searches or “moments” and cannot be embedded in external websites.

Twitter tests Stories-like features, messages are automatically deleted after 24 hours

With the exception of Twitter, all major social media platforms have previously launched Features like Stories. The format originally came from Snapchat, and then platforms such as Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp and YouTube offered similar features. Spotify recently announced that it would begin testing the feature, and even Microsoft’s Skype has tried it.

Twitter tests Stories-like features, messages are automatically deleted after 24 hours

For Twitter, Fleets was launched to address one of the main reasons users were reluctant to take the initiative: they were uncomfortable with the public nature of Twitter messages. Twitter said at the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in January that it would soon begin testing new controls to help users control the audience of messages, such as public or fan-only. But these tests have not yet begun. In this case, Fleets messages provide a simpler, more familiar solution for users. (Vikin)

Twitter tests Stories-like features, messages are automatically deleted after 24 hours